MPKV Courses Offered

Updated on: Mar 20, 2013

Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth (MPKV) in Rahuri was founded in the year 1968 as the 'Maharashtra Krishi Vidyapeeth'. It is one of noted agricultural universities in the state of Maharashtra.  The University has been renamed after a great social reformer Mahatma Jyotiba Phule.

The University offers B Sc / B Tech / M Sc / M Tech in Agriculture, Horticulture, Forestry and Agricultural Engineering. The University also provides lower level agricultural courses through Horticulture Training Centre and trainings for livestock supervisors.  PhD courses are offered in the disciplines of agriculture.

Admissions to various courses are held under the guidance of Maharashtra Council of Agricultural Education and Research (MCAER), Pune.
MPKV Departments

  • Agriculture
  • Horticulture
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Farm Business

MPKV List of Courses

U.G. programmes

  • B.Sc.-  Agriculture
    Duration: 4 Years
    Colleges: College of Agril. Pune
                   College of Agril. kolhapur
                   College of Agril. Dhule
    Intake: 120 to 190 (varying from colleges to colleges)

  • B.Sc. – Horticulture
    Duration:  4 Years
    Colleges: College of Horticulture Pune
    Intake: 20

  • B.Tech. - Agricultural Engineering
    Duration: 4 Years
    Colleges: Dr.A.S.College of Agril. Engg. Rahuri
    Intake: 50

P.G. and PhD Programmes

  • M.Sc. -Agriculture
    Duration: 2 Years
    Colleges: Post-Graduate Institute, Rahuri
                  Post-Graduate Institute, Pune
    Intake: 160

  • Diploma in Farm Management
    Duration: 1 Year
    Colleges:  Post-Graduate Institute, Rahuri
    Intake: 20

  • Ph.D
    Duration: 3 Years
    Colleges: Post-Graduate Institute, Rahuri
                   Post-Graduate Institute, Pune
    Intake: 34

  • M.Tech. - Agricultural Engineering
    Duration: 2 Years
    Colleges: Dr. A.S. College of Agril. Engg. Rahuri
    Intake: 10

Junior Agriculture Education:
This junior education comprises of two year's duration diploma course in agriculture. There are eight agricultural schools, two GTCs and one KVK in the capacity of the university. The university has also started encouraging NGOs to initiate small duration skill- oriented training programmes.

  • Agriculture Schools
    Duration: 2 Years
    Institute: 8 with the University
                  4 with NGOs

  • Krishi Vigyan Kendra
    Institute: Dhule (with MPKV)
                  1 per district with NGOs

  • Mali Training Program
    Duration: 6 months
    Institute: Ganesh Khind, Pune
Subscribe to our newsletter